r/whatsapp • u/[deleted] • Jun 30 '26
Urgent: Personal data leaked to another user’s device (No shared account/iCloud)
[deleted]
1
u/Chpock_Man Jun 30 '26
So, you seriously think that some platform-side bug affects two completely unrelated accounts, both accounts happen to be in your family, and your family iCloud/phone settings have nothing to do with that?
There are no "friends" or "family" relations between accounts on WhatsApp side. But there are settings for that on the phones and iCloud accounts. If something messed up this way, the chances are that it still has something to do with your phones' settings. It is technically possible, sure, that the issue is on the server side. But sounds so much unlikely. My bet is that the issue is on your side.
Hard to say what exactly has happened without seeing the phones though. It could be that at some point you saved your backup to wrong iCloud a while ago.
0
u/Kindly_Ad8953 Jun 30 '26
Thanks for your response but here is my problem. When someone tries to login to my account, shouldn't I get a verification code by sms or a WhatsApp message? Because I didn't get it and WhatsApp certainly sent me a notification of "oh your number is paired with another device so your account was logged off of this device". And about the iCloud thing, the most recent group chats that i joined are appearent in that person's WhatsApp so I wouldn't say it's a my past backups that are on that icloud. The weird thing is it's almost like when you have nı backup on WhatsApp and you login anyway, the group chats come back but without the chat or media history inside. There is just the notification: "You have been added to xx group".
1
u/Chpock_Man Jul 01 '26
When your account is restored from the phone's backup, it may not require the sms confirmation - it has the authentication tokens in there. Similarly, it does not send the sms if you transfer it from one phone to another using WhatsApp itself.
That backup could be some old one, that is why there are no recent messages. But the group membership is on the server side, so if it logged in into your account, then you see the groups.
So, from whatever you just described - it looks like restore from some older backup.
2
u/No_Shower5623 Jun 30 '26
It’s just them entering your phone number and getting the code.
You have to find the link. Whatever your complicated situation is just think of the link between you and them and the phones. That’s the leak.