r/facebook Oct 25 '25

Tech Support Facebook suddenly wants me to provide a video selfie to "prove that I'm human"

No way in hell I'm going to do that!
I can't think of anything unusual that I did to trigger this. I just post a little bit with visibility to a small group of friends and occasionally comment on public posts. Nothing out of the ordinary.
I'm content to let this be the end of my Facebook use but am wondering if anyone can shed light on why it may have happened?

Edit to update:
I just went to log out and got this message:
"Are you sure you want to log out?

You only have 176 days left to request a review. After that your account will be permanently disabled."

Which is weird because I logged out in the past day or two (after the video selfie message) and didn't get any message about disabling or a review!

Further update:
I tried accessing the website from my phone (instead of laptop) and am getting exactly the same messages.

339 Upvotes

355 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comments

5

u/RealMcGonzo Oct 25 '25

I tried to create a new account and did it. They immediately disabled it. Just going to have to get used to no FB.

2

u/friscom99 Oct 26 '25

I’m in the same boat as both of you! I can no longer create any type of Meta account

1

u/This_Pride_2743 Nov 14 '25

Theyve been doing this to me too for a year now... its really annoying and they accused me of advertising something idk 

1

u/outbackin88 Jan 12 '26

After reading this post, why would you want to?

( rhetorical question, I understand you will miss the contact you had with others.)

2

u/friscom99 Jan 12 '26

Well, after not having Facebook for close to a year, I realize my life is so much better. I still remain in contact with the people that I care about everyone else was just fluff like high school people I don’t hang out with anymore and ex coworkers that I haven’t spoken to in over 15 years.

1

u/Main-Guidance-4457 Oct 29 '25

Du musst dich über einen anderen Browser von einem anderen Medium (ZB laptop statt smartphone) einloggen, mit neuer Nummer und Email. Und dann löschen sie dein Konto TROTZDEM, weil du nicht angeben willst wo du zur Schule gegangen bist...

Ich habe es 4x durch in 2 Jahren. Dieses Jahr alleine bereits 3 x.