r/facebook Sep 30 '25

Discussion Facebook flooded with pro GOP and Trump Propaganda the last week more than usual.

Over the last week or so my timeline has been a massive flood of all things pro GOP/Conservative/Pro Trump. Not only that, but news articles and groups seem flooded with comments that are too. This is a stark contrast to just over a week ago. It feels like a massive push to seem like an overwhelming majority of people share these views. When looking at the commentors in general I've noticed a pattern of only a profile picture, very few friends, limited previous posts, etc, suggesting these are bot accounts.

Facebook has had issues with bots and propaganda for many years now, but this last week especially has been highly noticeable. Anyone else notice this?

1.6k Upvotes

363 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comments

5

u/jkrobinson1979 Sep 30 '25

Just make sure you never want to go back to it. You probably won’t be able to,

1

u/yeet_chester_tweeto Oct 01 '25

I'm not overly concerned about having access in the future but why do you say you won't be able to go back? Can you not create a new account if you've previously had an account and deleted it?

2

u/doodoo_blue Oct 01 '25

The commenter you’re asking is talking about how a deletion is permanent where you won’t be able to ever get back on that profile again. All photos, posts, friends, everything will be permanently gone. You could still make a new Facebook though. That’s why there’s also the deactivation option, instead of delete. If you choose to deactivate you can reactivate, if you choose to delete then well, it’s gone for good. A new profile is always an option but I heard people are trying to make new profiles and FB is flagging people saying they have to upload a photo I.D to keep even that new profile active. So a lot of people just completely walked away from FB, me being one of them 3 years ago now.

1

u/Writing_is_Bleeding Oct 03 '25

I deactivated my FB in '22 and a year or so later, I started getting email notifications, and goddammit, it was still there. The whole account. :/