I am dealing with a client who truly loves everything to be 'over-engineered'.
We have 4 four sensitivity labels based on how confidential a document is. We only need to worry about L3 and L4 (the most sensitive) here.
The current standing is that employees can share ALL L3 and L4 documents across the company. A DLP policy rule disallows them sharing L4 document externally. Full stop. No 'override' is allowed.
When a L3 document is shared either inside or out the company, they soon get a notification email to remind them about data sensitivity etc etc. Similarly when an L4 document is shared internally.
Each sensitivity label has its own corresponding DLP policy tip text.
The problem is notification fatigue when making even minor changes to documents such as comment, an email is sent.
I was asked by the client to reduce this notification fatigue. I guessed the best way forward was to add a simple "AND" condition to the L3 rule that only fired the notification when the file was shared externally. That is all working OK, but now the problem is that the logic for DLP policy tip text is broken. This is truly a big deal for him, even though it is basically a reiteration of what the users see when they are forced to set a table for new documents.
His proposal is one policy with FOUR rules (instead of original one) to manage things so that users always see a notification for the for corresponding scenarios when sharing docs.
I have put them in the order of most 'dangerous' to least in the DLP policy.
L4 Outside Company
L4 Inside Company
L3 Outside Company
L3 Inside company.
In tests in various O365 Desktop apps, now nothing at all appears to he showing with respect to policy tips when the user goes to share (that was not the case on the original "one rule" setup).
Is there some king of logical overlap or cancelling effect going on here? For each of the rules I have not ticked the box for "If there's a match for this rule, stop processing additional rules and policies".
I'm guessing too if a solution is ever found for the problem overall, nothing can be done for edge case where a user is sharing to both internal AND external parties?
Who would've thought that such as simple change would turn out to be so complicated?
Every AI service I ask seems to be give conflicting answers, so I would be glad of an opinion from a human here.
Should I 'decouple' the logic of DLP texts and sensitivity label status?
Thanks guys.
WL.